• November 25, 2015
  • Welcome!
    Logout|My Dashboard

Queens Chronicle

And another

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, December 5, 2013 10:30 am

Dear Editor:

It goes without saying, we Americans love parades. However, there is one parade which has no cheering crowd, only whispers of shame. To give this “Parade of Shame” a sense of reality, it will consist of three units, each led by a GOP president, followed by their “criminal” aides.

Since all parades have a grand marshal, I selected Spiro Agnew. Why? Because as Baltimore county executive, he was accused of illegal activities. Agnew plea bargained a nolo contendere and resigned as vice president!

The first unit is led by Warren Harding carrying a banner “Teapot Dome Scandal.” Several of Harding’s Ohio boys who were convicted in this corrupt oil scandal are now marching behind him.

Unit two, the mother of presidential scandals, is led by Richard M. Nixon, who is proudly wearing his bold printed banner “Watergate!” This ill-advised endeavor resulted in indictments, trials, convictions and incarcerations of 48 Nixon aides, including Bob Haldeman and John Ehrlichman. They are all walking behind the Nixon banner.

The final unit in our shame parade is led by the “Teflon” president, Ronald Reagan. His banner reads “Iran Contra Affair.” Congress ruled it illegal to provide arms to the Contras. Reagan violated the law by secretly selling arms to Iran in exchange for cash to buy arms for the Contras. Two Reagan aides — John Poindexter and Oliver North — worked through CIA and military channels. Reagan admitted he supported the sale. Ten officials were convicted. They are now marching proudly behind their “Teflon” president.

Epilogue: Fox and friends have been beating their drums while shouting that the Barack Obama presidency is not only anti-American but the worst ever. Folks, you will never see Obama lead a fourth unit in the Parade of Shame!

Anthony G. Pilla
Forest Hills

Welcome to the discussion.