• January 25, 2015
  • Welcome!
    Logout|My Dashboard

Queens Chronicle

Immigration advocate receives recognition

Long Island City resident Steven Choi honored by nonprofit group

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, November 27, 2013 10:30 am | Updated: 11:12 am, Thu Dec 5, 2013.

The New York Lawyers for the Public Interest, a nonprofit that advocates for low-income New Yorkers, honored Steven Choi, Long Island City resident and executive director of the New York Immigration Coalition, at the 2013 Felix A. Fisherman Awards Luncheon on Nov. 21.

Choi and Jonathan Westin —the other recipient of the award — were recognized for “their progressive advocacy work and commitment to helping others in need at the House of the New York City Bar Association in Manhattan.

“We have worked closely with both Steve and Jonathan on a number of issues and are excited to be honoring them for their commitment to fighting for social and economic justice on behalf of the underserved New Yorkers,” said McGregor Smyth, executive director of NYLPI. “We are immensely grateful for the valuable work that they have done and are proud to be partners in bringing about social change in New York.”

Choi has a long history of advocating on behalf of the immigrant community. Prior to joining NYIC, he was the executive director at the MinKwon Center for Community Action, a community-based organization in Flushing.

Under his leadership, the group played a lead role in building several coalitions including the 13% and Growing Coalition and the Asian American Community Coalition on Redistricting and Democracy.

“I am extremely honored to receive the Felix A. Fisheman Award this year,” Choi said. “This recognition is a privilege and further motivates me to continue the important work of expanding access to immigrant communities in New York. I graciously thank my colleagues who I’ve worked with to achieve real wins for immigration and build formidable political power in New York and beyond.”

Every year, the award is given to two honorees — one community lawyer and one community advocate.

Welcome to the discussion.